How Social Media Affect My Life!

March 5, 2012 § 16 Comments

Dear Social Media,

Thank you for all you have given me. Without you, I wouldn’t be able to meet so many people that are out of my reach in reality. And without people, I will not be able to reach my goal of doing something greater than what I’m able to do now.

It is scary to see how our world changes with the advent of the internet. On one side, it is an exhilarating to see the speed in which we connect with people over thousands of miles away. But the opposite is true, when we connect, our connections can sometimes be very superficial.

The best example is Facebook. There are so many things going on, but the ratio of important happenings to the typical nonsense is scary. So we develop a filter within our mind to ignore all that is non-important (at least I do.)

Twitter is also a scary place when you follow too many people. Status updates constantly. The moment you read one status and click on a link to read, hundreds more status update zips through. It is certainly difficult to keep up with anyone.

But above all the negative feelings toward social media, you have to admit. That ability to reach out instantly is amazing. If only we had something great like a cause, or something cool, social media is your buddy in helping you reach a far place and spread more quickly than anything imagined. This is why I chose social media as a place to start my quest to reach my goal.

Currently, I am working on an Internet Portfolio to be able to submit to my future employer. Mind you, that I am relatively new to the social networks (and blogging). But I figured, if others can do it, so can I.

I have spent all the free time that I had in the last two week learning and joining many social media platforms. I have been reaching out to many people in the simplest ways as I could without being annoying. After two weeks, I have concluded that WordPress is the easiest place to reach a real human being. One reason is that many people here are not selling anything (directly). I have also found that if I am a good participant in others’ blog, they too become a little curious about mine. Therefore, I have spent as much time as possible, reading others’ blog, and making an effort to leave comments on blogs that I like.

My blog is steadily building up traffic. The hardest thing is to keep up with it. I’m sure if you’re a regular blogger, you would know. I have made a promise to post a blog at least one per day, and I hope I won’t break that promise until I complete my goal.

For those that read this blog, you might not know it, but you are a big part of my goal. Whether you care or not, I would still like to THANK YOU!

(as always, if you like what I have written, leave me a comment 🙂

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 16 Responses to How Social Media Affect My Life!

  • When I started my blog, I had the same excitement as now you have, believe it or not after 9 months today too even a single comment or follower makes me so happy from within.

    True, Internet has it’s own advantages and disadvantages. Without it, you wouldn’t be able to write this post and neither I would have read it.

    I could totally relate to your post and that should define how well have you presented your thoughts 🙂

    • Tanguyenable says:

      Thank you for your wonderful comment. Yea, i just started out. I’m at the stage people call, “status watcher.” I see there to see the stats move up. Lame, but i just can’t help it at the moment.

      I have been trying to get readers to my blog one person at a time by spending time reading their blogs. It has been working….slowly. But i’m glad it’s going at least.

      Come back sometimes.

  • […] How Social Media Affect My Life! (tanguyenable.wordpress.com) Share:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  • […] How Social Media Affect My Life! (tanguyenable.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  • Logan Baals says:

    I agree wholeheartedly. I’ve been part of so many social networks for so many years. Blogging is really the first true way I’ve been able to reach people. That’s a beautiful thing to me, to actually make a difference. Good post. I really enjoyed this one especially.

  • Tony Berkman says:

    You’re a natural at social media because you speak from the heart. The reality is there are both positive and negative aspects to the changes that social media offers us. Twitter in particular led me to meet the person that I admired most in the world. In fact he was the closest thing to what I would consider someone that I idolized. I never would have had the opportunity to work with him for a year and a half if it had not been for one particular day when without much thought I sent him a random tweet. I didn’t expect an answer though it led to a long term relationship. What it taught me is that social media has made the world much smaller. It also taught me that we need to be very careful about mistaking opportunities with what we really need. The chances of something seemingly impossible happening because you are now able to connect with a person that you once never dreamed you could have now increased to the point where I believe being more discerning is critical. Perhaps I needed to learn that lesson despite social media. I wish you the best of luck on your new adventure. From reading this post I truly believe that you are like a “fish in water” and that your dreams and opportunities will dramatically expand because of your new found interest.

  • Rachel Allison says:

    What you have said is very true. Like many things, there are several pros and cons to the media. It is a wonderful way to reach out and learn from people that you would otherwise never come in contact with. But at the same time, having such extensive social contacts can create – as you have said – a sort of insincerity. This is something we have to look out for. But as Tony has pointed out, you speak from the heart and I believe people such as you are very important to this “social world.” Keep it up! 🙂

  • Tesi J. says:

    I agree that social media is a very valuable tool and can be a great way to build up your sites traffic. You are doing a good thing by actually reaching out to your fans and followers, as this is a good way to increase return traffic.

  • […] How Social Media Affect My Life! […]

  • justjordi says:

    I am also building an Internet Portfolio for a future employer!! Well, I’m in a class called “writing for the web” and we are creating a web-site, from scratch using html coding and all, to build a website that showcases our work as writers and people. It will have a portfolio and resume and everything. We were also supposed to create a Blog, and you actually commented on one of my first posts! So yeah, as an English major and about to graduate soon, I need as many skills and options available when I get into the “real world.” Thank you!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading How Social Media Affect My Life! at tanguyenable.

meta

